Yelawolf and Shooter Jennings unveil rock band

The first single “Make Me A Believer” is now available

Hip-hop artist Yelawolf and American singer/songwriter/producer Shooter Jennings have officially launched their extraordinary new rock project, Sometimes Y, with the release of their infectious debut single “Make Me A Believer”, the title track from the debut album. eponym of the duo. studio album, due Friday, March 11 via Slumerican. On paper, the two stars don’t seem like the most obvious combination. But after listening to their collaboration as Sometimes Y, you’ll quickly realize that their chemistry, built from a decades-plus friendship, is actually as intoxicating as it is unexpected. “Make Me A Believer” channels the nervous charm of Ric Ocasek and the indelible hooks of Rick Nielsen, as it takes into account self-esteem and the need for external validation.

Sometimes Y is available for pre-order now at all DSP with each including an instant download of “Make Me A Believer”. The album will also be available physically on CD and vinyl.

“When you’re a kid in school, they teach you all these spelling rules,” Jennings explains, “but then they talk to you about ‘sometimes y,’ which throws the whole system into question. Suddenly everything is out the window and you can do whatever you want. That’s how I felt making this record.

“Shooter and I had been planning to work together for years and when we finally bonded and made the album, I was like, ‘What are we waiting for?!’,” Yelawolf adds. “Sometimes Y is the name of the band because of the concern we have with the music and the listener, and it also gives us the freedom to do anything and create any style we choose.

Sometimes Y, produced by two-time GRAMMY Award winner Jennings, is a daring and intoxicating rock and roll hybrid, fusing past and future sounds to evoke an alternate universe where David Bowie performed Thin Lizzy or Axl Rose sang with The Cars. The songs on the upcoming album are as addictive as they are unpredictable, blending 80s bombshell and arena rock energy with serious country and hip hop swagger, and the performances are thrilling to match, fueled by the undeniable chemistry and the irrepressible joy of the duo. Jennings’ production work is lush but never crowded, and Yelawolf’s lyrics are utterly arresting, insightfully wrestling with purpose and perseverance, struggle and triumph, pain and transcendence.

All 10 tracks on the album were recorded at famed Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles in June 2020, amid the COVID-19 pandemic and a tumultuous summer marked by social and political upheaval. With Yelawolf as the invigorating frontman, Jennings, who appears on synthesizer, piano and acoustic guitar, enlisted his longtime bandmates – Jamie Douglass (drums), Ted Russell Kamp (bass, banjo, acoustic guitar) and John Schreffler ( guitars, pedal steel) — to complete the project, which was mixed by GRAMMY-winning engineer David Spreng (Smashing Pumpkins, Bob Dylan) and mastered by GRAMMY-nominated engineer Pete Lyman (Chris Stapleton, Weezer).

“The first time Yelawolf and I connected on a track, it was like this fire exploded in my mind,” says Jennings. “It confirmed my long-standing suspicion that there was something really special between the two of us. Also, I’m not sure everyone knows what a good singer this guy is, but he’s there. one of the best I’ve ever worked with, his instincts for melody, phrasing and timing are so fresh and exciting.

“I don’t think any of us knew what would happen in the studio, but once we found the mojo, it was the most electric vibe I’ve ever experienced making music” , shares Yelawolf. “This album is a new sound from a bunch of guys who are clearly hungry and love what we’re doing. And what’s rock and roll anyway if it ain’t lawless?! Personally , I’m ready to shake the shit up and have some fun!

As weighty as the record may sometimes feel, it is ultimately a work of liberation and release, an ecstatic statement of creative freedom fueled by adventure, discovery and a bit of chaos, which is precisely what Sometimes is. Y. Stay tuned for more!

1. Sometimes O
2. Hole in my head
3. Rock’n’roll baby
4. Make me a believer
5. Shoe string
7. Jump out the window
8. Catch you on the other side
9. Shitty Day
10. Moonshiner Race

Comments are closed.